What is grief?

Grief is the breaking of the emotional bond with the loved one. This de facto leads to the healing process of the cut link. This is what the grieving process is all about. It is an incredible intelligence that knows exactly how to proceed in order to heal the inner wound and preserve the integrity of the psyche.

Obviously, the intensity of grief is proportional to the degree of attachment to the person who has died.

There is no such thing as a standard grief, no absolute norms, grief is a unique experience for everyone. So there is nothing “abnormal” in what is experienced.

First of all, in the solitary journey of mourning, thesupportof loved ones, associations or even psychologists is essential. This relieves the grief of the bereaved person and facilitates a smooth process of mourning.

This support helps her to undertake the ” work of mourning “, a voluntary process that is essential to accompany the natural healing process.

Confronting emotions with authenticity is what allows us to free ourselves from their embrace. Then, by gradually accepting to confront the violence of the absence of the loved one, the bereaved person learns to meet the loved one again in a different way. She builds a new inner bond with him.

It will take time for the grieving person to reach the end of the tunnel, but eventually he or she will get there, that is a certainty. Slowly they will be able to begin to see a way back to life, to rebuild their lives harmoniously. It becomes possible to live without the presence of the loved one, but still in intimate connection with him/her forever.

What do you know about the grieving process? Let us guide you through our questionnaire and you will receive a personalized answer that will help you better understand what you are experiencing.

The four phases of grief

If the experience of mourning is unique for each person, its course is the same for all: in four stages.

Phase 1: Shock and shock

First of all, upon hearing the news of the bereavement, the bereaved person is in a state of disbelief, even radical denial. No doubt that protective mechanisms are put in place to preserve his consciousness of the enormity of what has just happened.

Phase 2: The flight, the search

Secondly, the bereaved person mobilizes a colossal amount of energy to try to escape the suffering (hard work, hyperactivity, various addictions?). Clearly, she seeks and tries to preserve, at all costs, the interrupted relationship with the loved one: need to touch his clothes, smell his smell, look at his photos and videos, hear his voice…

Phase 3: Destructuring

Afterwards, the bereaved person understands that his or her external relationship with the loved one is definitively broken, that it is irremediable. The pain can reach an unprecedented paroxysm, with a depressive experience in which the emotions have a considerable intensity. There is a total loss of reference points and structure, a deep feeling of loneliness.

Phase 4: Restructuring

Eventually, a different kind of bond is being reestablished between the bereaved person and the loved one. As time goes on, the external relationship gives way to an internal one. Slowly, the bereaved person begins to see the possibility of a return to life. In this respect, she redefines her relationship to herself, to others and to the deceased.

To find out where you are in your grief journey, we invite you to take our questionnaire. You will be provided with benchmarks that can help you.

Emotions experienced during grief

Grief is a fundamentally emotional process. It is undeniable that the bereaved person experiences emotions of a rare intensity. As one might expect, fear, anxiety, guilt, anger, irritation, revolt, depression… take hold of the bereaved person for weeks, months or even years. Of course, with a unique duration, power and rhythm for each.

Certainly, accepting and expressing one’s emotions is the surest way to heal the broken emotional bond with a loved one. Listening to a loved one or a caregiver, or writing, will encourage the expression of these emotions.

Answering the three essential questions of grief work is also a considerable help, they are real therapeutic tools.

In general, grief reactivates past suffering from breakups, losses and separations experienced in the childhood and adult life of the bereaved person. It is her entire personal history that constitutes the prism through which she will perceive and live her grief.

Through the joint work of the grieving process and the mourning work, the bereaved person will experience an inner alchemy that will transform him or her forever. Taking care of herself with patience and kindness is what will gradually and surely lead her to peace.

What emotions are you currently experiencing? Going through our questionnaire will lead you to a personalized answer that will help you see things more clearly.

A taboo subject

It is amazing to see how death is a taboo subject in our society, even though it is an experience shared by all. Indeed, today more than 80% of individuals die in hospitals, death is hidden, exfiltrated from the human community. In the past, people died at home. Rituals such as funeral wakes allowed the family and friends to gather around the body exposed to the public for several days. There was a closeness and familiarity with death.

Today, like birth, death has left the home. In doing so, a whole ancestral knowledge has disappeared, bringing in its wake fear, anxiety, ignorance of what mourning is and the loss of a sense of belonging to the human community.

To evacuate death is to silence it, it is also to silence mourning. Society fills this void with inappropriate presuppositions and injunctions that add suffering to suffering.

It is necessary to free the word, to inform on what is the mourning, to invite the relatives to share the experience of this intimate and painful journey. Restoring the common and individual rituals is to give meaning to this ultimate passage. This contributes to the emergence of psychological, social and spiritual references that bind a community together. And that soothes the pain of the bereaved.

Don’t hesitate to ask for help to support you in your grief. Make an appointment now with one of our mental health professionals by clicking here.

Source: https://mieux-traverser-le-deuil.fr/le-deuil